“If you want to know what it is like in a warzone, visit Edinburgh airports long stay carpark.
Cars abandoned everywhere and anywhere.
Driving down a lane to have to U turn as the exit of the lane is blocked by abandoned cars or having to turn parking sensors on to go round corners as cars have been abandoned on the corners too.
But hey at least they make your pocket a lot lighter with their extremely high cost and you can lose some weight too due to the very long walk.
Absolutely shambolic and actually embarrassing how bad it was.”
“Hi I found the car park overcrowded with cars parked where they should not have, signage was confusing, one through lane blocked by parked cars, one positive was that we lost our exit ticket and the intercom attendant couldn't be more helpful..”
Thank you for your review.
We are aware that customers are leaving their vehicles out with the designated parking bays and we are working with the relevant teams to monitor this. Its disappointing to see that some customers are causing obstructions for other customers, if customers are finding it difficult to find a space we will always provide alternative parking option if they ring the barrier.
I'm pleased to hear that our car parking team was able to assist you when exiting the car park.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
Thank you for your review. Our long stay shuttle bus was suspended in 2020. The car park is an approximate 12 minute walk to the terminal and we find it to be a manageable distance for most customers. Those who find the distance unmanageable can contact us directly to discuss how we can support them.
The long stay car park is marketed as a facility that does not have a shuttle bus and this is confirmed on our website and booking confirmations.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“What’s disgrace!
Car park is like a garbage dump!
No clear signage, no bus, no luggage trolleys,
Guessing game as to what you’ve to do next, and the surface of the road is like dragging your suitcase across a field of gravel!
We were shocked! The airport in general is a disgusting mess!”
Thank you for your review.
It sounds as though our automatic number plate recognition (ANPR) system hasn't registered you upon entry. When this occurs, it means our system doesn't match you to your booking and you are then charged the roll-up rate in error upon exit. This doesn't happen often but when it does, I understand the frustration that it causes however I'm glad you managed to get it sorted at the time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Long stay car park is awful!
Very little sings to the terminal, no walkways in the car park, massive puddles everywhere and into the bargain a huge walk before reaching the terminal. Not great if like me you have young kids.
Usually pay for fast track but for some reason I couldn’t this time… huge tip.. pay for the fast track it’s so much better and easier!”
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry to hear you found our wayfinding confusing. Clear signage is one of the most important things to have in any busy environment, but especially in an airport. Please be assured that we are actively working on our wayfinding strategy, and we will ensure feedback, like yours, is brought into the discussion.
We are actively working on a project that will improve the long stay walking route, we understand that the walking route requires improvement, and we appreciate your patience with us during this time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Car park is terribly surfaced with no defined walkways for pedestrians until you get to the mid stay area. Trying to pull large cases through the car park is difficult. When we arrived back we going most roads in the parking area blocked by parked cars. Clearly the car park isn’t monitored and people are left to abandon cars anywhere they want. We had to drive around the car park for ages trying to find an unblocked road to exit the car park. Awful setup.”
Thank you for your review. We are actively working on a project that will improve the long stay walking route, we understand that the walking route requires improvement, and we appreciate your patience with us during this time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“I’m so frustrated. I arrived at the airport on Sunday morning to board a flight that was cancelled. I’d pre-paid for parking from Sunday to Friday. They were unable to get me onto another flight so I had to leave to go home.
The next morning, I got another flight, returning on Saturday (8th July). It was the same length of trip, but I had to buy more parking, which, because it was last minute, cost me £99.99. It was the same car and I was in an adjacent space when I returned!
Surely I shouldn’t have to pay twice?”
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you:
https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties when trying to leave the car park. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you:
https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“I paid £179.99 for the long stay parking. I appreciate I was late booking but, for that price, no bus to take us to the airport. Instead there was a makeshift walkway which had been created meaning we had to walk through puddles to get to the airport both, on arrival, and return. An expensive and very poor experience.
In future I will do my best to fly from Newcastle which is a properly set up Airport.”
Thank you for your review.
Our long stay shuttle bus was suspended in 2020 and the car park is an approximate 12 minute walk to the terminal. The long stay car park is marketed as a facility that does not have a shuttle bus and this is confirmed on our website and booking confirmations.
We are actively working on a project that will improve the long stay walking route, we understand that the walking route requires improvement, and we appreciate your patience with us during this time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry to hear that you found it difficult to find a space in our car park. If ever faced with the same problem in future, please ring the intercom at the exit barrier and our team will provide a suitable alternative.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“First time I’d used the Long Term Car Park: horrendous experience and I had pre-booked. It had been completely overbooked - there were cars parked on pavements, on access roads, blocking exits, etc. Took 15 minutes to find a space and only because someone else left.”
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry to hear that you found it difficult to find a space in our car park. If ever faced with the same problem in future, please ring the intercom at the exit barrier and our team will provide a suitable alternative.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Our flight with easy jet was cancelled so we came back a day later. Tried to extend our booking on line but could not. No contact number available. Tried twice to ask a question as to how we extend but no answer. When we left car park we had to pay an additional 60.00 which was more than our original booking. Will not be using this car park again.”
Thank you for your review.
I understand the frustration that will have been caused by the flight cancellation and I’m sorry to hear that this resulted in an additional charge at the car park barrier. As advised in our terms and conditions, if you enter or exit out with the grace period, you will be subject to our roll-up rates as the time you have occupied was not pre-planned.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“When I arrived I spent 20 minutes looking for a parking space, I eventually gave up and parked on a traffic island along with many others who where double parked.”
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry to hear that you found it difficult to find a space in our car park. If ever faced with the same problem in future, please ring the intercom at the exit barrier and our team will provide a suitable alternative.
Kind Regards,
Customer Support Team
“Shocking,barriers not in operation lifts not in operation had to use fire escape to access terminal building paid £110 pounds for easy access no staff on duty then had to contact the main office to allow access out of car park”
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you:
https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Turned up to the car park at 8am to find all the spaces taken and loads of cars parked up on the curb. I managed to also park on the curb but this really isn't acceptable, people who pay to book do so on thr basis of it being Hassel free before their flight which it wasn't.
I contacted Edinburgh Airport whilst I was away to be told "it's in our terms and conditions that if you can't find a space to contact us", well who reads the t&cs for a parking space? How about making this clear on the confirmation booking email!!”
“Booked long stay. Not enough spaces, cars parked on the road, on double yellow lines making navigating the car park, turning and trying to find an available space an altogether stressful experience when heading for a flight. There was also a dead rat on the road. No clearly marked pathway to walk to the terminal. The price is also quite high for a poor quality product.”
Thank you for your review.
We are aware that customers are leaving their vehicles out with the designated parking bays and we are working with the relevant teams to monitor this. Its disappointing to see that some customers are causing obstructions for other customers, if customers are finding it difficult to find a space we will always provide alternative parking option if they ring the barrier.
We are actively working on a project that will improve the long stay walking route, we understand that the walking route requires improvement, and we appreciate your patience with us during this time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Abysmal, spaces are clearly oversold for there were cars on every yellow line, curb, any space (not a parking space) available and there were even two cars parked side by side blocking a road.”
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry to hear that you found it difficult to find a space in our car park. If ever faced with the same problem in future, please ring the intercom at the exit barrier and our team will provide a suitable alternative.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Got to ticket machine put ticket in it showed that I had to pay 600 pounds rang Bell waited for about five minutes finally got sorted out will not be using again.”
Thank you for your review.
It sounds as though our automatic number plate recognition (ANPR) system hasn't registered you upon entry. When this occurs, it means our system doesn't match you to your booking and you are then charged the roll-up rate in error upon exit. This doesn't happen often but when it does, I understand the frustration that it causes however I'm glad you managed to get it sorted at the time.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team
“Booked in advance but on arrival at car park there were no spaces. Lots of cars driving around hunting for a space and multiple cars left abandoned on double yellow lines. After a long time searching forced to leave car in unofficial parking space. No visible sign-posting offering directions to terminal.”
Thank you for your review.
We are aware that customers are leaving their vehicles out with the designated parking bays and we are working with the relevant teams to monitor this. If ever faced with the same problem where you cannot locate a space in future, please ring the intercom at the exit barrier and our team will provide a suitable alternative.
Kind regards,
Customer Support Team